John Mourjopoulos

John Mourjopoulos, Professor

University of Patras
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Wire Communications Laboratory

John Mourjopoulos is a Professor of Electroacoustics and Digital Audio Technology at the Electrical and Computing Engineering Department of the University of Patras, in Greece and head of the Audio and Acoustic Technology group of the Wire Communications Laboratory (WCL).

He obtained a BSc degree in engineering from Coventry University and MSc and PhD degrees in 1980 and 1985, from the Institute of Sound and Vibration Research (ISVR), at Southampton University. His PhD research was in the area of digital signal processing and room acoustics and has also worked at ISVR as a researcher fellow. From 1986 until 1988 he worked as researcher at WCL and in 1988 he was appointed Lecturer in Electroacoustics at the Electrical and Computing Engineering Department of the University of Patras. From 1992-2000 he was an Assistant Professor, from 2000-2008 he was an Associate Professor and in 2008 he was appointed professor at the same department. In 2000, he was a visiting professor at the Institute for Communication Acoustics at Ruhr-University Bochum, in Germany.

John Mourjopoulos has worked in national and European projects, has organised seminars and short courses and contributed towards the development of digital audio devices. He has authored and presented more that 100 papers in international Journals and Conferences and was Session Chairman in a number of national and international conferences. He was awarded the Fellowship of the Audio Engineering Society (AES) in 2006.

His research relates mainly to digital processing of audio and acoustic signals, especially for equalisation of room acoustics. He has also worked on perceptually-motivated models for such applications, as well as for speech and audio signal enhancement. His recent research interests also relate to aspects of all-digital audio chain, including WLAN audio, amplification and direct acoustic transduction of digital audio streams.

He is a member of the AES (being chairman of the Greek section for the period 1993-95 and currently acting as vice-chairman), of the IEEE and of the Hellenic Institute of Acoustics for which he is also a member of the board.

E-mail address:
Telephone number: +30 2610 996474